As a project owner in Coscine, you have the ability to add, remove, or upgrade other researchers from project member to project owner.
To manage project members, either click on the "Settings -> Members" button on the right side of the project page or on the left quick launch bar (see Figure 1). You will be redirected to the user management page. Here you will find a tabular listing of all project members and their roles.
Members must be added separately per project and per subproject and their roles must be separately managed. The members and roles are not inherited from the main project to subprojects.
In Coscine there are two different roles:
- Owner (project owners) have read and write access to a project. They can add, edit and view files. They can manage members and change project settings.
- Member (project members) have read and write access to a project. They can add, edit, and view files.
- Guest have read access to a project. They can only view and download data.
To add other users, they must have an account in Coscine. Use the "Search for a user or an email address to add..." free text field on the User Management page (see Figure 1) to find and select users. Define the role of the user (see Figure 1; selection field "Member") and then press "Add User". If the user does not have an account yet, see Invite External Project Members below.
Invite External Project Members
You can send an email invitation for your project to people without a Coscine account. To do this, simply enter the person's email address in the search field, select the role for the person, and click "Invite" (see Figure 2). The invited person will now receive a personalized email from the Coscine system, with a link to sign up and information about the project. Once they have signed up and created an account, the person will be added to your project. Under the "Invited Users" tab, you will see an overview of all the invitations sent to external people (see Figure 2). You can view the status of each invitation, as well as subsequently delete or resend the invitation (if the email has been lost or deleted). The invited person will be notified of your actions in both cases.
You can only change the role of the invited person once the person has been added to your project. If you have accidentally sent an invitation with an incorrectly assigned role, you should delete it and send a new invitation with the correct role. The "Status" column of the user administration shows you whether the invitation has already been accepted. Invitations that have already existed for a long time and have not been answered are declared invalid for security reasons. If the invited person now wants to join the project after all, you should repeat the invitation via the "Send again" button.
Using the import function, you can add multiple members to your project at the same time from existing (sub)projects. In the user management, you call up this function via the "IMPORT" button (see Figure 2). In the window that now opens, you can use the drop-down list at the top left to select the project from which you want to add members (see Figure 3). After selecting a project, the members from the respective project appear in the table. If you have a large number of members, the filter function in the table header for sorting by name may prove helpful. If you do not want to add all members of a project to your subproject, but only a selection of the members displayed in the table, you have the option of removing certain members from the table using the "REMOVE" button. These will then be ignored during the import process and will not be added to the new project.
You are not removing anyone from the project he/she is in by doing this, only from the following import. To complete the import process, click the "IMPORT" button at the bottom right. The users will now be added to the project.
Search for Users
If users are already part of your project, you can search for them using the right-hand search text field "Search within project members" on the user management screen (see Figure 1). To do this, simply enter the name of the person in the free text field. The search will be performed automatically - you do not need to confirm your search parameters by clicking another button.
Removing Permissions and Users
You can change the initial permissions assigned to a user at any time in the user table. You can also remove users at any time by clicking the "Remove" button in the "Actions" column.